1. Home
  2. Awards
  3. Tanaka Award


Tanaka Award

The late Dr.Yutaka Tanaka, the first head of the Bridge Division of The Imperial Capital Reconstruction Board which was established soon after the Great Kanto Earthquake, is widely known as a bridge and strof the numerous bridge constructions that he worked for are found even today such as the symbols of Tokyo, Eitaibashi and Kiyosubashi bridges spanning Sumida River. Dr. Tanaka a noted bridge and structural engineer is widely respected for his outstanding achievements and contribtuion to the development of bridge and structural engineering.

Tanaka Award was established to honor Dr. Tanaka for his pioneering contribtuion to bridge and structural engineering in 1966.  The fund for the award was endowed by his family and also provided through Dr. Yutaka Tanaka  Commemorative Foundation which was established by his friends, colleagues, students and admireres in 1965. Since then, the award has recognized remarkable success, exellence, and contribution, at the same time, gained recogniction internationlly.

Nowadays the award is counted as one of prestigious and authoritative awards in the civil engineering field.

The award is made in the three categories:
1. Outstanding Achievement: the award is made to recognize outstanding achievements and contributions to the advancement of the field of bridge engineering. This award, founded in 1993, has been recognized as one of the most prestigious award in the country. Many of the recipients are the country's most eminent bridge experts.

2. Exellence in Research Paper: the award is made to recognize the author, or authors of research papers on planning, design, construction, maintenance and management, history and others, published in the JSCE journals/ magazine, which have made valuable and commendable contributions to bridge engineering progress.

3. Excellence in Bridge Design and Construction: the award recognizes constructed, or reconstructed bridges, or related structures which are produced based on excellent planning, design, construction, maintenance and management and excell technically and aesthetically.  The award is made not to honor individual engineers' success, but rather the works and achievemtns made by the cooprative effort of engineers who worked together in a project.

  • 2015 Winners
     3. The Okegawa Viaduct
  • 2014 Winners
     2. SANRIKU Railway HAIPESAWA Bridge
     3. Otagawa-Ohashi Bridge
     4. Irabu Bridge
     5. GENTA Bridge
  • 2013 Winners
     1. Bridges in the Hirose-gawa Area
     2. Terasako Chocho-ohashi Bridge
     3. Kakamigahara Bridge
     4. Kasumi Bridge
     5. Metropolitan Expressway Yaesu Route Shiodome Viaduct
  • 2012 Winners
     1. Shin-minato Bridge
     2. Awa Shirasagi Bridge
     3. Second Ondo Bridge
     4. Sanagawa Bridge
  • 2011 Winners
     1. Dubai Metro Viaduct
     2. Ikina Bridge
     3. Third Agatsumagawa Bridge
     4. Hiroshima Airport Bridge
     5. Tokyo Gate Bridge
  • 2010 Winners
     1. Colorado River Bridge
     2. Amarube Bridge
     3. Connection Taxiway Bridge in Tokyo International Airport D-Runway
     4. Fudo Ohashi Bridge
  • 2009 Winners
     1. Stonecutters Bridge
     2. Sarutagawa Bridge and Tomoegawa Bridge
     3. Kyushu Shinkansen Matsubara Intersection Bridge
     4. Incheon Bridge
  • 2008 Winners
     1. Toyoshima Bridge
     2. Sannai Maruyama Bridge
     3. Yabegawa Bridge
     4. Tokyo International Airport International Airline District GSE Bridge
     5. New Metropolitan Bridge

   JSCE Awards Top